When the cake calls

The sun is shining the guests have arrived and the baby shower is in full swing. The cake is made, the food is hot and the smell is intoxicating. I make myself a plate, 2 soft tacos, made with ground chicken; of course no one but I know it’s not beef, this is a beef eating crew. Potato skins, my dear friends, 2 of you will be joining the party on my plate, a scoop of dip and a hand full of chips to top it off. Just like old times, only this will be my only plate. I will not go back for seconds or thirds, I won’t sneak one more bite when no one is around, I’m not worrying about if I’m eating fast enough to get a second helping before it’s all gone. I’m simply enjoying my one plate.

Today I learnt that on your weight loss journey you can still derive joy from food, it simply should not be your only source of joy.

I treated myself to a slice of the cake that I spent hours making the day prior and in that moment I found my true weakness. Sugar, I want another piece, or maybe a cupcake… the cupcakes don’t have as much icing surely I can have a cupcake too? No. I had to talk myself down with the skill of a hostage negotiator, I would regret it greatly the next day, if not in a few hours.

Even as I’m writing this I feel a pang of guilt. Today I ate in moderation and I should be proud but tomorrow is weigh in day and I’m terrified that for the first time in my 2 month journey I won’t see a loss. I debate fitting in a workout but it’s supposed to be rest day, your body needs rest to rebuild and repair but what is more important right now?

I decide to trust in the program, it’s worked so well for me up to now, I will keep my rest day *phew* I’m exhausted anyway. Dinner will be veggie heavy and fat and carb low due to the increase of both at lunch. My water intake will be impeccable and I will work on some personal development this evening. This is how I will both take Joy from my old favourite comfort foods while still working towards my goals. Back on track tomorrow because

I decide to trust in the program, it’s worked so well for me up to now, I will keep my rest day *phew* I’m exhausted anyway. Dinner will be veggie heavy and fat and carb low due to the increase of both at lunch. My water intake will be impeccable and I will work on some personal development this evening. This is how I will both take Joy from my old favourite comfort foods while still working towards my goals. Back on track tomorrow because food is no longer my only source of joy and i no longer need unhealthy food every day. Two months of healthy eating and today I made the decision to enjoy some old favourites. That is the true meaning of moderation.

Work hard, play in moderation 😉

Leave a Reply

